Sewing and Machine Embroidery

I love sewing, all kinds. I have a number of sewing machines and, like most people who enjoy sewing, too much fabric. I wish I could sew as fast as my brain could think because I love to plan projects and put together the materials to complete them. Over the years, I’ve sewn many things and sewing has played an important part in my life, but mostly  it brings me joy and satisfaction and an ability to create.

Many of my sewing idols tell stories of a grandmother, aunt, or mom who was instrumental in them loving this craft and bonds that were formed as a result of learning to sew. That is not my story.  In fact, my desire to learn how to sew was met with angst from my Mom who felt me wanting to learn how to sew was a sign she wasn’t providing for me satisfactorily.  I was thirteen years old when my mom purchased my first sewing machine for me. I don’t remember the brand, but it was solid and metal.

I had one or two sewing classes, but I learned to sew mostly from books and reading pattern directions.  After I graduated college, when I had more time to sew, the resources for learning were scarce.  I subscribed to “Sew News” (remember when it was a great big newspaper?) and all the pattern magazines; “Butterick Pattern Magazine ,” “Vogue Pattern Magazine,” “McCalls Pattern Magazine,” and “Simplicity Pattern Magazine.”  Of course I can’t forget “Threads.”

Does anyone remember the kids pajama scare? There was a time when the papers warned of child’s pajama anti-flammability causing cancer. I made all of my son’s pajama’s that year.

Later I became more proficient and began making couture jackets and designer blouses. My first serger was a Babylock and I remember going from NY to Connecticut to get it. I loved my Singer Futura in those days and despite many saying what an awful machine it was, I created some great things with it.

Now I have many more sophisticated machines which I adore.. but I sure did love that Futura. Years later I bought one on Ebay. I do know though they don’t last very long because of the plastic gears.

More on projects and machines later.

Diva

Diva

Sunflower Shirt Kwik Sew 2515

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in Sewing, Sewing Machines, Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sewing and Machine Embroidery

  1. mattie405 says:

    Kuby,
    I see we also have sewing in common……..so we both collect kitchen things and have a collection of sewing machines! Congratulations on your new blog! Mattie

  2. kuby2u says:

    Yes we do! Tell me about your machines? Are you partial to one brand or one type of sewing?

  3. mattie405 says:

    Kuby, I have too many machines, at least that’s what hubby says……but he says that about all my kitchen stuff too. I have many old ones, and some newer ones too. I don’t sew much anymore tho, life gets in the way. I am hoping to get my sewing room back in order and get in there again. I think I may be a little partial to the Babylock brand, after having Bernina, Pfaff, Singer and Kenmore machines over the years. I too have the huge fabric stash although I have given massive amounts of it away in the past year. The grandkids like the embroidery machines and love me to do things for them with little designs. My most used machines are the Babylocks, both their sergers and the embroidery machine for the ease of use of them, next is the Pfaff for it’s sheer power to go thru anything I put under the presser foot, the one I have was their first embroidery machine back in 1995. What machines do you use? Mattie

  4. kuby2u says:

    Mattie, my very first serger was a babylock. In 2001 I got the Evolve and then later the Evolve Wave. I agree with you, Mattie, that serger is the best thing since sliced bread. I have 2 other sergers a Bernina 2500DCE and a Viking 910. As far as sewing machines, since ’96 I have been a Bernina brat. I have a 1630 which I will never let go… When I had the store I got to know the Brother Innovis which is a wonderful machine and love it. It’s the same as the Babylock, but you didn’t mention what model you had. All of them (not the sergers) are made by Brother. Those machines are a breeze to use both for sewing and embroidery. We were Pfaff dealers also, but I never really took the time to learn them and those seemed to be the machines with the largest learning curve. I do own a Pfaff Expression 2036, but haven’t had time to use it. My latest machine is the Bernina 830, it has dual feed, and a BSR. Do you enjoy using the digital software to make designs? I do. I made a cross stitch that said “Housework Makes You Ugly” with a picture of a lady holding a mop. I have the stitch-out and if I can find the design, I’ll send it to you.

  5. mattie405 says:

    Kuby, I bought the Babylock Imagine back in 98 by mail order after reading about it and cursing too much when trying to learn the Pfaff 786 that I had bought. In 2000 I got the Evolve after stopping into my dealers to just pick up some thread. My Pfaff is a 7570 and I never could master any of the software so never did learn any digitizing. I got the Babylock Ellegante the first day my dealer got it in, I love the simplicity of operating that machine and it will in all likelyhood be the last I will ever get, can’t justify getting another when the ones I have get used so infrequently. I have an old Singer treadle and a Featherweight and a few others from them too, some have the bent wood case I don’t know the models numbers of them, most left to me by the seniors I used to help with their mending and such, I keep them to remember their owners by. I used to love to sew for myself and the kids but whenever people find out I have one of my machines out they show up with loads of mending that I hate doing and then get very offended when I try to refuse doing it, they sort of took the fun out of sewing for me. When I finally am able to get back into my 2 sewing rooms I won’t let anyone know I am sewing again and I’ll keep that door locked so they can’t see things set up!

  6. kuby2u says:

    Mattie, that is so funny and true for me also. I’m hard pressed to do my own mending let alone anyone else’s. Richard just helped me clean and organize my sewing room, I still have a ways to go. When I don’t make clothes, I get my fabric fix by making small fun things; recently I’ve been making some pillowcases! They help practice skills (like the sausage pillow case) and it can be completed in an hour or less. The key of course is keeping an area clear so when inspiration strikes you can indulge it. Another thing I’ve been playing with is the endless hooping feature. (I think the Ellegante has that feature, it might be an upgrade) I was able to do a whole header on a pillow case. I’ll be putting up pictures also. I also love to make dolls. I really think the key to sewing and enjoying it is to recognize that it’s a fun hobby for YOU. Mind you, I make things for others all the time… but I really enjoy being creative and it’s a hobby I enjoy. What motivates you to sew?

  7. mattie405 says:

    Kuby,
    My grandkids love when I make them pillowcases with either designs or their names on them. That is about the extent of my sewing for the last 2 or so years, I make something when the grandkids ask me to. Last month I did them some nap time blankets with their names for their day care and kindegarten classes, their little blankets seem to just disappear from the classes at alarming rates so at least this way whoever is taking them will have to spend the time to pick out all those embroidery stitches. My daughter in law told me earlier that one of them has already disappeared, this time, when whoever took it tries to pick out the stitching they are in for a big surprise……………..I embroidered over some iron on webbing and then steamed it all to set the stitches, if they do manage to spend the time trying to get the stitches out they will in all likelyhood end up with a really big hole in the center of the blanket. I really need to start sewing again and use up some of the really nicer fabrics I have here before they rot, I have loads of Irish linens and beautiful velvets, I just have to figure out what to make with them all. I don’t quilt but used to make all my own clothes and household things so maybe I’ll start with them again. Mattie

Leave a Reply

