Photography Then and Now

Now

My love affair with technology goes beyond sewing, computers, and cooking appliances into Photography.  In 1997, my Richard bought me my first digital camera. It was a Kodak DC 50. I enjoyed that camera a great deal and in those days after taking pictures, you had to connect the camera to the computer and convert the pictures to a format viewable to everyone as Kodak used a proprietary format. You were restricted to Kodak’s program also. (Of course in those days, we only used PC‘s)  The camera had a zoom mode and the delight of just snapping away at whatever I wanted just enveloped me.

Here are a few shots of what I did with that camera. Of course I never paid attention to composition, or the rule of 9’s. I just saw what I like and pushed the button!

Tomato Plants in Reno

One of our many breakfast celebrations

Around the Lake

Then in approx. 2000, after a trip to Costco “feeling camera’s,” Richard bought me for Christmas that year the Olympus C700. I hadn’t done much research on the camera but  liked the way it felt in my hand. This would prove to play an important part of how I purchased camera’s in the future.  The C700 took nice shots. The colors were great and I really liked the ‘feel’ of the camera, but when in the house, I was unable to see through the view finder. If I wasn’t in a highly lit environment I couldn’t see what I was even taking a picture of.

Hannah-Marie McCarty taken with the C700

One day Richard and I were walking around in Walmart and we saw the Olympus C2100UZI. The price was wonderful so we bought it. We returned the C700 and I was never sorry. I still own and love this camera. I think I captured the best shots with this and has brought me years of joy and satisfaction.

C2100 great camera; easy to use; fantastic pictures

This camera has 10X optical zoom.  I think also what contributed to the quality of the pictures was the built-in image stabilization.  The image quality on this camera was so superior to anything I’ve ever seen. Here are a few shots I took with this camera

Doll purchased in Williamsport, PA

Twin Falls, Id

Hat I made for hat/glove tree at South Reno United Methodist Church when John Ruby was Pastor

South Reno United Methodist Church where John Ruby was Pastor

While planning for one of my trips to the Puyallup Sewing and Stitchery  Expo, my husband suggested I bring a smaller camera.  This time we purchased a Fuji Film FinePix E550 Zoom. This also felt good in my hand (do we see an ongoing theme here?)

Fuji E550 Zoom

Richard did much better with this camera then I did. I really missed the image stabilization and every picture I took was underexposed/overexposed/blurry especially when I zoomed.  Richard used this camera for the pictures of the website for the shop and to promote the teachers. I have to take a moment to rave about Fuji’s customer service though. After we had the camera for about 4 years, it stopped working. We were out of warranty. Fuji sent us a brand new camera!

Taken with the Fuji E550

Enter SLR’s. Since I never really bonded with the Fuji, Richard bought me an Olympus 500. While I really liked this camera and it took beautiful pictures, I really didn’t take the time to learn the ins and outs of it. About a year later Olympus came out with the 510 with image stabilization and I got that one.

Olympus 510 with Image Stabilization

We took some beautiful shots with both of these cameras. I was so spoiled by the C2100 though, the 500 series just seemed so much harder to use and clumsy,  with all of the buttons so close to each other. One time I messed up the white balance so badly all of my pictures had a bluish tinge. Also, after having the 510 only a short time, the SD card slot broke and it Olympus charged us $150.00  to have it fixed. Frankly, I’m wondering if it ever worked because I don’t remember testing it.  I do love the scene modes and picture modes on these camera’s.

Smiling Chloe taken with Olympus 510

Isn't she a beauty?

Finally, this brings us to my newest coolest camera. It is the Nikon D300S with an 18-200 VRII Zoom Lens and image stabilization. Now this camera does not have ‘MODES’ where you can choose Portrait or Sports or Scenes. Over the past few months I’ve been learning this camera and also learning about composition and depth of field. I’m learning about exposure and how to manipulate F-stops. I admit, I do use the “auto-mode” mostly.  What I love most about this camera is the view finder is large and I can see so clearly through it. I will be posting more on photography, but here is a sample of the Nikon.

Fuchsia with Nikon D300S

Now as technology has evolved, I also have an iPhone 4 with a super camera and video. I also have a Flip which takes wonderful high definition videos. More on those another time

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Photography Then and Now

  1. Annie says:

    Kuby –
    I’ve been an Olympus faithful for years. Now you have me thinking about a new camera! I’m going to enjoy keeping in touch with you through your blog : )

    Annie

    • kuby2u says:

      Annie, what Olympus do you have? They really are good camera’s, but it never hurts to explore other brands. I’m keeping my Olympus, but really wanted a larger image sensor. Do you have an SLR? (one that lets you change out lenses)

Leave a Reply

