Mac Mania

I’ve been involved in computers since 1987 when I went hunting around, too close to Christmas to find my son Bart a Commodore 64. I ended up at a place called “Crazy Eddies.” They were out of Commodore 64’s so I purchased a Commodore C128 because I was assured it would run all of the same games and had all the features plus.

What i was looking for and couldn't find.

In the beginnning...

Bart opened this on Christmas morning and really enjoyed it.  I was amazed at how he would intuitively understand games without even looking at the directions. Not too long after this, the Commodore gave way to a new Nintendo and sat ignored in the dining room for months.  I was preparing for a dinner party for Easter and needed to get the C128 out of my dining room.  Before taking it apart, I turned it on and started messing around. Before I knew it, I was connecting with it and even taking it seriously on many levels. (when it told me “Syntax error” I was even insulted)  Before long I installed GEOS (Sort of like a Microsoft Works)  and QLINK the precursor to AOL and I now owned a 300 baud modem.  I really

What I ended up getting for Bart

got to know the 128 and even purchased memory RAM for it and got my feet wet with regard to programing scripts.

I began calling BBS’s and learning to use Macros in communication software designed to take advantage of the C128 features…

Enter: King Kong Bundy

Richard bought me my first PC as an exciting Christmas present, complete with a treasure hunt!

Christmas morning ’91, I woke up to a wonderful surprise, after a treasure hunt, complete with the most witty, funny hints, I found my new computer and this is a memory I will take with me the rest of my life.  This is only one of the ways my wonderful husband makes my life like a fantasy. This computer was alas a 286 (before the birth of 386) and opened up a world of learning and delight for many years to come. It came with the the HeadStart interface and was mouse driven but it also came with about 6 other programs and full manuals and I read every one cover to cover. I learned DOS commands, and I learned Lotus and an Alpha Database program and Alpha Word . I downloaded one of those QWK readers and subscribed to BBS feeds and even learned more. (more about all this in another post)

Apple Land

Frankly, the whole idea of Apple used to annoy me.  I used to teach and support different software packages and inevitably someone would ask me “can you get this for the mac?” To which I wanted to respond “Get yourself  a real computer.”

if I had only known

One day, my Blackberry broke. I hadn’t had it that long but it was out of warranty. While browsing at the AT&T store, Richard noticed there was only $50 difference between a new Blackberry and an iPhone.  I don’t believe anyone can hold an iPhone in their hand and not lust after the superior  graphics and ease of use. Later I fell in love with the software and how many features it had.  I do live in Santa Cruz, which is close to Cupertino, many people around here use Macs and though I resisted a long time, the iPhone really changed my mind.  I use so many PC programs, I couldn’t just totally abandon the PC,  I learned that I was able to use any program on the Mac either  using Bootcamp or one of the emulator software packages. (I use VMware).  Richard also, a longtime critic of anything ‘Mac’ was converted and we both jumped on the Mac bandwagon.  I currently have an iMac 27 inch and a Macbook Pro which is by my Bernina 830.  The transition was extremely easy for me although I must admit I’m still learning the nuances through books by David Pogue and others.

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in Mac and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mac Mania

  1. mattie405 says:

    Oh my goodness Kuby, I so remember Crazy Eddie even after all these years. His commercials used to drive me “INSANE” just like his prices were supposed too. Did he also have stores out there in Cali? I thought he was only in the NY area, which is where we were born and raised.

  2. kuby2u says:

    Mattie, I’m originally from Long Island, New York. I live in Santa Cruz, Ca now. Then before that Reno, Nevada for about 15 years. Where in New York did you grow up. I know you frequently refer to how hot it is where you are. Where are you now? As far as “Crazy Eddie,” I think his store was closed down for some not so good reason.

  3. mattie405 says:

    Kuby, we are originally from the upper east side of Manhattan. We came down to Louisiana back in 1981 but then I went back up to NY for work and became a long distance commuter until 2002. I miss living back east, miss the four very distinct seasons and the ability to find whatever you want. You are right about Crazy Eddie, he actually spent time in prison for his business dealings. I can still remember his commercials with the guy shaking the little Christmas tree and announcing “Crazy Eddie, his prices are INSANE!” Were on the island did you live, both hubby and I had a lot of relatives living out there, hubby still does, mine have mostly passed at this point.

Leave a Reply

