Breakfast Celebrations (Frittata)

Easy brunch

It’s Sunday morning and the Met game is on. Of course they are losing. Richard usually takes Chloe for walk and then we settle down to brunch with a special cocktail.  After working nights, we used to go to Hoffman’s downtown Santa Cruz and  have mimosas, scones and breakfast, but now we have a different scenario.

I used to make a breakfast called “Farmers Breakfast” from a recipe I got out of a really old Betty Crocker cookbook. I can no longer find that cookbook or the recipe, but it was essentially a one pot breakfast with sausage, potatoes and eggs. One day while thumbing through Mark Bittmans “How To Cook Anything,” I came across a recipe for Frittata. Mark Bittman writes for the New York Times and his writing style is down to earth and witty.

http://www.amazon.com/How-Cook-Everything-Simple-Recipes/dp/0471789186/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1284562189&sr=8-2

I also have and use the iPhone App with the same name as his book.

iPhone app based on Mark Bittman's cookbook

Here is my adaptation of Bittmans Frittata:

1 large baking potato

3 slices of thick sliced bacon

1 large onion chopped coarsely

6 or 7 tiny grape tomatoes chopped (mushrooms can be substituted)

1 cup grated cheddar cheese

5-6 large eggs

2 tablespoons milk or cream

1) Preheat oven to 350.   Scrub the potato and pierce with fork. Wrap with a paper towel and microwave on high for 6 minutes.  As soon as bell rings, wrap in foil and set aside.

2) In a 10 inch cast iron skillet fry the bacon till crisp. Remove and set aside. Pour off all but a tiny bit of the drippings.

3) Saute the onions.   Leaving the skin on the potato, cut in large cubes and add to the onions.

4) Whip the eggs with the milk in a bowl and add the tomatoes. Add to the pan with the potatoes and onion.

5) Sprinkle the grated cheese on top. Crumble the bacon and also sprinkle on top. Lower flame and cook for about 3 minutes.

6) Move to oven and cook approx 20-30 minutes. (check after 15) Slice and serve.

This can also be stored in the refrigerator and reheated or served at room temp.  I serve these with scones and it makes a perfect brunch.

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breakfast Celebrations (Frittata)

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Breakfast Celebrations (Frittata) | Kuby's Korner -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

