Confessions of a New York Pizza Snob

Does it get any better?

Being from New York, I’m kind of a “Pizza Snob” It’s funny, Richard, although he lived in New York, never realized how superior New York pizza was compared to other places. When we went back in 1994, he got a chance to retest New York Pizza.  When we lived in Reno, there  was a restaurant called “New York Pizza, ” that tasted okay.. not great, but okay. After we came out to Santa Cruz and sampling what this city had to offer in the way of pizza, I decided it was time to learn to make my own.  I mean anything I could make would have to be better than the colon cleanse they call pizza out here.( I’ve been asked more than once “What is baked ziti?” can you imagine?)  I tried many different pizza dough recipes and sauce recipes and purchased pre made sauces. I’ve used various mixing appliances to make the dough; Cuisinart Food Processor, Bread Machine, and a Kitchen Aid Stand Mixer. I’ve cooked pizza on the barbecue, on a pizza stone, in a convection oven and a regular gas oven. Also, while I love Wolfgang Puck and do have his pizza cookbook, we do not eat so-called ‘designer pizza’s.’

Flour

Pricey, but worth it once you're sure your going to use it

I like to  use King Arthur‘s Italian 00 flour for pizza dough. All purpose would also be fine.

I also use some semolina.

 

Add some of this to your dough

I have Zojirushi X-20 bread machine. I do make my own bread and rolls.  I’ve been using a bread machine since the early 90’s. (More about that in another post)

Good Quality Bread Machine (More about this in another post)

One of my favorite bread machine cookbooks is “The Bread Lovers Bread Machine Cookbook” by Beth Hensperger.

My Favorite Bread Machine Cookbook

This dough recipe is adapted from her cookbook. It is also chock full of recipes for other breads.

Pizza Dough

1 1/3 cups water

1/4 cup olive oil

3 cups flour

1/2 -3/4 cup of semolina flour depending on what it looks like after 10 minutes of kneading

1 TBS of King Arthur dough flavoring

1 TBS sugar

1 1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp instant yeast

Put all  of the ingredients in bread machine per manufacturers instructions. Place on dough mode. Press start. After about 10 minutes of kneading dough should be smooth and form a ball, if not add more water by the tablespoon or more flour to get the correct consistency.

This recipe makes 2 13 inch pie crusts. i usually freeze one  in a plastic bag.

Kuby’s New York Pizza

1 pizza crust stretched out over pan or stone (approx 13-14 inches)

1/2 can of Muir Glen Pizza sauce (we order this on the internet, it’s the very best)

We order this by the case, but many supermarkets carry it

1-2 tsp of italian seasoning

1 onion chopped and sautéed in olive oil

1 to 1 1/2 heads of garlic, peeled chopped and sautéed in olive oil

2 sausages sliced thin OR sliced pepperoni OR 2 0z of prosciutto OR sliced meatballs

1 lb of mozzarella cheese, shredded

1) Sautée onion till soft and add garlic and stirring constantly cook until fragrant.

2) Stretch dough over pan or stone.

3) Spread 1/2 can of pizza sauce onto crust. Pinch seasoning between fingers to ‘wake it up’ over the sauce.

4) Spread the onion garlic mixture over the sauce.

5) Sprinkle about 1/3 of the cheese on the pizza.  Place the meat of choice evenly over the pizza and then add the rest of the cheese.

6) Bake in 450 oven for 15 minutes or more OR place on Pizza Pizzazz 20 minutes duel and 5 minutes top heat

There is one more appliance that has opened my ‘pizza world’ and that is the Pizza Pizzazz by Presto.  With this appliance I achieve a nice crisp crust and a perfect top every time.

This opened my 'Pizza World'

and here it is in action

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in Kitchen Appliances, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Confessions of a New York Pizza Snob

  1. Barbara Zaloga says:

    I just ask. DO YOU SHIP

    Looks YUMMY

  2. I second Barbara! Yummy…

  3. I really could undoubtedly employ some of those.

  4. Pingback: Calzone | Kuby's Korner

Leave a Reply

