Lamb Shanks with Couscous

I tried to discuss this with my husband in bed last night, he was clearly not interested in this recipe or lamb shanks period. This usually is considered an economical meal, but in Safeway the lamb shanks were 10.98 for 2 approx 1 lb lamb shanks. They were imported from New Zealand. I had lamb shanks with couscous before in a little cafe in Carmel, Ca during the New York Mets and San Francisco playoffs in 2000 (the Mets won that playoff but ended up losing in the World Series to the Yankees) This is truly a one pot meal. I prepared it in a fiery red Le Creuset french oven. Lamb shanks would also do well in a crockpot or a pressure cooker.

4 lamb shanks
1/4 cup flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp pepper (I used lemon pepper
2 TBS oil

1 onion coarsely chopped
2 stalks of celery in 1/2 inch slices
2 carrots sliced 1/2 inch or more
3 cloves of garlic chopped
1 cup of chopped tomatoes or can of chopped tomatoes
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ancho pepper (or chili paste)
1 tsp of rosemary crushed
1 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp ginger
pinch of saffron threads
8 oz of dry red wine (drinking quality)
2 cups of chicken stock or beef stock
1 cup of couscous
3/4 cup of raisins

1) Preheat oven to 325. Mix flour with salt and pepper and dredge lamb shanks. Preheat pot and then add the oil and brown the lamb shanks 2 at a time till brown on all sides. (this is the most important part and truly sets the tone for the whole dish) Remove lamb shanks (I put then on the inverted cover of the oval french oven but any plate will due)

2) Saute onion, celery, carrot for about 4-6 minutes till onion is wilty. Add the garlic and stir taking care that the garlic doesn’t burn. Add the spices and stir till they start to stick to the pan. Add the tomatoes.

3) Pour in the wine and using a wooden spoon scrape the pot to bring up the stuck pieces (also called fond) Add the stock and saffron. Add the lamb shanks. Bring mixture to a boil, cover and place in preheated oven for 21/2 hours. (your house will smell delicious)

4) After 2 1/2 hours check the lamb shanks. Meat should be ‘fall of the bone tender’ Remove the lamb shanks and add the raisins and couscous. Place back in oven for approx 5 minutes. Remove from oven, add the lamb shank and let stand approx 10 minutes till couscous absorbs the liquid.

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lamb Shanks with Couscous

  1. marlis says:

    Way cool to find this.. makes me happy. And thanks for recipe. My husband would wrinkle his nose at anything other than beef/chicken ;-(. I have to work him up to “new foods”… be blessed

Leave a Reply

