Dolls Dolls Dolls

 

Bernina Embroidery Software

 

I love to make dolls!  I’ve been  making dolls since the 80’s and I remember the meticulous planning that went into it. The first one was a soft sculpture ‘cabbage patch’ type from a McCalls Pattern. How carefully I planned the painting of the eyes, and even purchased a special tool to make the curly hair.  Drawing dolls faces really stressed me out, so when embroidered faces came out and the ability to design my own doll faces with Bernina Embroidery Software, I jumped in big time.  I made Pansy, an Elinor Peace Bailey. I enjoyed making this so much, I gave some as gifts, and also gave classes on making this doll.

I  love  Elinor Peace Bailey‘s artwork so much, I even made bags from them:

 

Using Elinor Peace Bailey's Couches and Chairs embroidery card.

Using Elinor Peace Bailey's Couches and Chairs embroidery card.

 

Making dolls is addicting and I found in my stash an older craft club pattern I decided to finish and out if it came Apple Annie and Andy. The kit was so cute as it also had a recipe for apple butter!

 

Apple Annie and Andy

 

Another doll I have made have brought us years of joy. Meet Theobold. I’ve searched all over the internet to find the pattern so I could link it. I’ve searched my pattern stash and can’t for the life of me come up with the pattern or the designer.

 

Theobold

 

At the Sewing and Stitchery Expo in Puyallup, I had the pleasure of meeting Barbara Willis and purchased her Poppy Pattern.  Armed with my wonderful bags of Talbot silk scraps, I made the shoes for these dolls and also made the quilted plaid pants using the lines in the plaid to sew straight.

 

Another version of Poppy

 

 

First Poppy I made

 

My next endeavor was a Julie McCullough design that I really thought was over my head. I remember contacting Julie via email and she was just so warm and supportive. She really encouraged me greatly. The Diva Pattern can be purchased from her site at Magic Threads

 

Diva

 

I have several other dolls in progress and they are currently in the UFO status. (Unfinished object) I hope to do follow-up to this post and show my completed projects.

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in Sewing, Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dolls Dolls Dolls

  1. Marlis says:

    How cool. Love your dolls. I remember the elinor faces for the embroidery. Those were really fun. I guess I need to show the printables that she did.. beautiful work. i’d made dolls if i could make faces…..

  2. branchenbuch says:

    Hello, this is a really fascinating web blog and ive loved reading several of the articles and posts contained upon the site, sustain the great work and hope to read a lot more exciting articles in the time to come.

Leave a Reply

