Jewish Soul Food

Friday Night Stuffed Cabbage

When I lived in Long Island there was an ‘eat-in’  deli when you got off the LIE to go to Bethpage that served a platter called “Jewish Soul Food.” On the platter was stuffed cabbage,  kasha varnishkes, potato pancakes, and corned beef. When I left New York, I yearned for that food. Richard bought me this wonderful book by Molly O’Neil called “The New York Cookbook” The recipes are pretty authentic and downright delish.

 

A good read, plus the recipes are authentic and delicious

From this book comes a recipe that I make in October called “Friday Night Stuffed Cabbage’

I also serve this with challah. When I prepare this, I also prepare an adaptation of “Sophie Minkoff’s Pumpkin Bread,” which has become a staple with this meal.

Friday Night Stuffed Cabbage

1 savoy cabbage

1 lb ground beef round

1 egg

salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

juice of one small lemon

1 onion chopped

1 TBS raw white rice

6 fresh tomatoes cored, seeded and chopped

1 can of tomato sauce 8 oz

3/4 cup of raisins

1 TBS plus 2 tsp of sugar

1 tsp of oregano

1 tsp of  paprika

1) Cut cabbage across the base and separate the leaves.  Any  leaves that are not large enough to roll should be chopped.

2)Bring a large pot of water to a boil.  Blanch the cabbage leaves till they are soft. Drain in a colander and cool under cold running water.  Drain and pat dry. Lay on a flat cutting board and cut out the thick in the shape of a triangle on the bottom of the leave.

3) In a mixing bowl combine meat, egg, salt pepper , 2 tsp of the chopped onion, raw rice and half the lemon  juice.

4) In a non reactive large pot combine the remaining onion and chopped cabbage.

5) Place 1 tablespoon of the meat mixture; fold the base of the  leaf over the meat mixture and then fold each side towards the center.  Roll up the leaf to form a cylinder.  Repeat with each leaf until all the meat mixture is used up; placing each cylinder on the onion and cabbage in the pot as you finish it. *KUBYS NOTE* my rolls never go together this neatly.  As I roll, inevitably the cabbage falls apart. I just piece it together the best I can because the starch from the rice will hold it all together

6) Pour the tomato sauce, raisins, lemon juice, sugar, oregano, and paprika over the cabbage rolls.  Season with salt and pepper.  Cook covered over low heat for about 2 hours to get all the flavored mingled.

(I have made this in the crock pot and I think it also lends itself to the pressure cooker but add more water)

Challah

Painted with Egg and sprinkled with Poppy Seed, this time I included some saffron

I’ve been making challah for years, both in my bread machine and my KitchenAid.  Here is a recipe from Electric Bread that I use quite a bit

3/4 cup water

3 cups of white bread flour

2 TBS sugar

1 1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup butter

2 eggs plus

1 egg yolk

3/4 tsp poppy seed

2 1/4 tsp yeast

Put in bread machine minus  and press start on regular cycle. Be sure to  check after 10 minutes of kneading to make sure dough forms a ball and is smooth and elastic. Remove when complete; cool on rack.

OR

You can also set your bread machine to dough mode. When the process is complete, separate dough into thirds. Shape each third into a 14 cord and braid the dough, tucking ends under.

Let rise in warm place till doubled in bulk. Preheat oven to 350 Paint dough with a beaten egg and sprinkle with poppy seed. Bake for 25-35 minutes

*KUBYS NOTE* I added saffron to dough this time. I also forgot the butter!! So I just cubed the butter and kneaded it in by hand and proceeded to shape.

Sophie Minkoff’s Pumpkin Bread

Sophie Minkoff's Pumpkin Bread, but I cooked the raisins in rum

also contained in Molly O’Neils book is this wonderful recipe that never fails to impress

1 cup raisins

2 large eggs

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 cup of unsweetened pumpkin puree

2 cups of all purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp freshly grated nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

1) Preheat oven to 350.  Grease a 9X5X31/2 inch loaf pan.

2) Combine raisins and 1/3 cup water in a saucepan and bring to a boil over high  heat. Remove from heat and set aside to cool. **KUBYS NOTE** I used rum instead of water.

3) Meanwhile in mixing bowl whisk together the eggs, oil and 1/4 cup oil.  Add the pumpkin puree and stir to combine.

4) In large mixing bowl combine the flour, sugar, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt.  Stir the pumpkin mixture into the dry ingredients. Stir in the walnuts and undrained raisins.

5) Transfer the batter to the prepared loaf pan.  Bake until wooden skewer or toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Approx 1 to 1 hour 10 minutes. Cool on rack

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jewish Soul Food

  1. marlis says:

    OOh Kuby, my mouth is watering, I’m hungry and this looks so wonderful. I know I will be making the rolls and goodness Challah, you can’t even imagine how long it’s been since I’ve had some. I hope it’s a stay inside weekend!!! Thanks for sharing.

  2. mattie405 says:

    Kuby,
    I bought myself that same cookbook when I was still living up in NYC back in the 1990’s, my boss saw me glancing thru it when I got into work later that day and loved it so I bought him a copy too. It is a true NYer’s cookbook and everytime I see it on my bookshelf here at home in the deep south I think of my hometown of NYC and miss it. The cabbage looks great and you know how much I love cabbage too…..it must be a NY’er thing we have with cabbage. I too make challah sometimes and then use it for french toast or bread pudding. Mattie

    • kuby2u says:

      Mattie, I love this cookbook so much we bought it twice! Kind of sounds like an old Rod McKuen poem. When we moved from Reno, everything was still packed away. I looked high and low for this cookbook and also Bitterman’s “how to make anything” cookbook. We finally just bought them and again, and wouldn’t you know it, about 6 month later I found them both! I agree about the bread pudding and French Toast, in fact, for years we had a tradition of 16 bean soup with Saffron bread Christmas Eve. In the am, Christmas morn, I’d make french toast with maple syrup and sausage and we’d sip chambord.

  3. Pingback: Jewish Soul Food Part 2 | Kuby's Korner

Leave a Reply

