Lasagna in the Crockpot, yeah really

Lasagna in the Crockpot

When my husband Richard says “This is on the list,” I know it came out delicious.

I made this dish yesterday morning after thumbing through my “Fix it and Forget It” Cookbook. I really didn’t believe this could be done and the ingredients are rather expensive, but I can tell you it really works. I love crockpot cooking and have made soups, stews, beans, breads in the crockpot that are to die for. One of my absolutely favorite books is “Not Your Mothers Slow Cooker Cookbook” by Beth Hensperger  and Julie Kaufmann.

Nice little book with many people from all over the country contributing recipes

"Not Your Mothers Slow Cooker Cookbook," One of my favorites

Slow Cookers

I have several slow cookers. My oldest one is a Rival 5 quart. It cooks rather hot but has turned out many delicious meals. I also have a programmable EuroPro 7 quart, which I used for this recipe. I had been having doubts about the EuroPro because seems to only function well when I keep it on high. Last St Patricks Day, the corned beef wasn’t tender after 10 hours of cooking, as a result, I do not recommend this cooker. In “Not Your Mother’s Slow Cooker Cookbook,”  it is recommended that you use a proper size cooker for your meal. I also have the Hamilton Beach multi-slow cooker which comes with 3 different size bowls. I’m ashamed to admit, this is still the box, so I can’t really give this a good review. Folks on the Yahoo Group Cooking Appliances seem to love this pot.

This is the one I have, still in the box, i'm ashamed to say

This will be my next crockpot because I really want a reliable 7QT

Crockpot Lasagna

1 package lasagna noodles

1 lb of ground beef

1 tbs dehydrated onion

1 tbs dehydrated garlic

1 tsp of italian seasoning

2 cooked sausage sliced

1 quart of spaghetti sauce

8 oz of dry red wine

1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

2 cups ricotta cheese

1 lb of grated mozzarella cheese

2 TBS chopped parsley

1 egg

1) Mix ground beef with italian seasoning, dehydrated garlic and onion and brown in pan. Drain fat. Add sliced sausage, spaghetti sauce, wine and red pepper. Set aside

2) Mix Mozzarella cheese, ricotta, parsley, and egg in a bowl.

3) Cover the bottom of the crockpot with  1/4 of the sauce.  Break the lasagna noodles up to fit a layer of noodles on the bottom of crock.

4) Add a layer of cheese(about 1/3 of it) and top with noodles. Add another 1/4 of sauce; then noodles and then the rest of the cheese.

5) Cover and cook for approx 5-6 hours on low till noodles are tender. Check noodles after 5 hours. If dry, add more liquid, either water or tomato sauce.

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in cooking, Kitchen Appliances, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lasagna in the Crockpot, yeah really

  1. mattie405 says:

    kuby,
    This sounds good. When I make lasagna it takes me about two days although that’s probably because I make enough for the boys to each have a huge pan to take home with them and thats a lot of work. I think I will try this in the crock pot for just hubby and me sometime. Do you think it would work with the no boil lasagna pasta? Mattie

    • kuby2u says:

      Hi Mattie, it might, but I think it might get a bit mushy and not stand up to 5 hours of cooking! This recipe can be ‘played with’ and the cooking time shortened if the noodles are tender sooner then the 5 hours. Thanks so much for your comment, Mattie

  2. Diana says:

    This would certainly beat “Hamburger Helper” lasagne! 🙂

  3. marlis says:

    Wow Kuby, now this I have to try. I love lasagna. I love my crockpot and so this should be a marriage of two good things. You know I have that cookbook… mmmm where might it be? I’ve always had a Rival and love the crockpot dearly. This last one has two different inserts. One that is divided and one that is not. Love being able to fix two things in the pot.

    Thanks always for your sweet comments. Big Hugs..

Leave a Reply

