Recent Reads

2011 has started with an awful cold/asthma/allovercrappy feeling.  Richard and I have both been sick this week. In my mind I want to sew and take pictures and go to the beach. In real life right now that is not working. I will instead write about the fiction I’ve been reading of late.

The Hour I First Believed

I have read both “She’s Come Undone” and “I Know This Much is True,”  also by Wally Lamb. As a Psychiatric Nurse, it has aways sounded to me like Wally Lamb knew his way around the block as far as this dilemma is concerned.  This book takes place before, during and after the Columbine shooting in Colorado. It is also a story within a story. Caelum Quirk’s family history of prison reform going back to before the Civil War and how it impacted his life is at the core of the story. Substance abuse is also a big part of the story line.  In this book, everyone is dysfunctional! I don’t think there is a healthy relationship to be found. The book did engage me, though, because the characters seemed genuine.

Last Night in Twisted River

This is John Irving‘s latest book. I’ve read everything he has written and I’m always held hostage by his tales of emotional upheaval. The twists and turns in his plot always leave you guessing,  The relationships in John Irving s books are always unconventional. I always look for several things in his books. 1) A bear 2) Prostitute (This one adds a frying pan)  Like many of his other books there is always an underlying theme of abandonment and something you can only call “trying to love when you don’t know how to love”

“The Help”

“The Help” is a one of the best books I’ve ever read.  It was sometimes upsetting to read because I wondered if I had lived in Jacksonville during those days if I would have left my own comfort zone to do the right thing.  The women involved in this book told their stories with the consequences of putting their lives and the  lives of their families in peril.  I’ve read a bit of Kathryn Stockett‘s response when people say to her “How could you have lived in such a place?” She reports to becoming angry and defensive with them and even sometimes defending her hometown.  If you are not usually a ‘reader,’ and can only read one book a year, make it this one.  This is destined to be a classic, it is that good.

The Secret Scripture

With it’s flowery poetic language, and depressing topics, I found “The Secret Scripture” an incredibly difficult book to read. The author attempts to weave a story over 100 years of Irish history from the perspective of a one hundred year old woman who has been in a mental hospital for over 60 years. The story is  implausible, the characters  underdeveloped and the plot is so fragmented right down to the unbelievable “Madame X” type ending. This book was a disappointment and a waste of time and money.

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recent Reads

  1. Min Barberio says:

    Thank you for the post, I even learned something from it. Incredibly good content on this website. Always looking forward to new entry.

  2. Annie says:

    Thanks for reviewing my favorite book of all time, Kuby — The Help. I’m glad you enjoyed it too. Do you know that the recipe for Caramel Cake is on Kathryn Stockett’s website? I’m gonna try it!

Leave a Reply

