Beef Barley Soup with a Skillet of Cornbread

Beef Barley Soup

Skillet of Governor Ann Richard's Cornbread

Since we weren’t feeling to great of late, I took a few a few short cuts with this meal. I made Beef Barley Soup and didn’t brown anything. I just threw it all in the crock pot! Beef or Chicken broth can be substituted for  water/bouillon combo. Whenever I make mashed potatoes, I always add lots of garlic to the water. When I drain the potatoes I save and freeze the water in plastic containers to later use for soup.

Lazy Day Beef Barley Soup

2 lb chuck roast cut into 1.5 inch cubes with all visible fat removed

1 red onion chopped

1 large carrot chopped

2 stalks celery chopped

4 cups water

1 TBS better then bouillon

2 cups potato water

1 14 oz can chopped tomatoes

3/4 cup pearl barley

1 large bay leaf

Put all of the above ingredients in crock pot on low for 7-8 hours

Just Plain Old Cornbread*

1 tbs oil (preferably corn or canola)

1 1/2 cups medium grind preferably stone ground cornmeal

1/2 cup all purpose flour

3 tbs sugar

1 tbs baking powder

1 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

3 eggs lightly beaten

3 tbs unsalted butter melted

Grease 10 inch cast-iron skillet with the oil. Place the empty skillet in cool oven and set temperature to 400 degrees.

In a medium bowl, stir together cornmeal, flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and baking soda. Pour in the buttermilk and eggs and gently mix by hand until mixture is thoroughly blended.  Stir in melted butter.

Remove hot skillet from the oven and pour batter in the skillet (The batter will sizzle) and return to oven. Bake bread for 18-20 minutes or until it begins to brown on top and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Serve Bread warm

* Recipe from Texas Home Cooking by Jamison

This is my ‘go-to’ cornbread recipe. I usually jazz it up with bacon or cheddar depending on the mood.

My 'go-to' cookbook for all things Texan

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in cooking, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beef Barley Soup with a Skillet of Cornbread

  1. Babygirl says:

    Let me just say I love how your cornbread is in a cast iron pan. I always make mine in the same. Very nice beef barley recipe. Nice post

  2. Nancy Roseen says:

    I like the potato water tip! Thanks. Everything else sounds great too!

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Beef Barley Soup with a Skillet of Cornbread | Kuby's Korner -- Topsy.com

  4. Debra says:

    Yummy! Now I’m hungry, especially after seeing the pictures…
    Keep on cookin’ girl ;o)
    Xoxo
    Debra

  5. Mattie says:

    Kuby,
    Mmmmmmm, beef barley is one of my favorite soups, I could eat the whole pot of it myself and often do as hubby doesn’t like soups unless he has the flu, that’s fine with me, I get to eat it all! Hope you and hubby get to feeling better soon. Mattie

  6. David Coffin says:

    Your cornbread image stopped me: exactly like we make, in a skillet. So I compared recipes; very similar, but with somewhat different amounts of the same ingredients. We use yoghurt instead of buttermilk and often add a very little maple syrup, but the main thing is we use polenta/grits instead of cornmeal. Otherwise, here it is; it’s truly GREAT cornbread:
    http://busterbucks.hubpages.com/hub/Worlds-Best-Cornbread-Recipe
    Enjoying your food and photography posts and pins!

Leave a Reply

