Calzone

Everything in the Refrigerator Calzone

You don’t  really need a recipe to make calzone. It is basically a pizza that is wrapped in crust.  To make this calzone, I had a frozen pizza crust from my last batch. Referenced here: Pizza Dough One recipe yields two crusts. I freeze one by shaping it into a disk and putting it in plastic bag.  For the calzone above, I divided the pizza crust in two; patted each one into a circle; put the filling; folded it over  and crimped the edges.

Put on a pizza pan lined with non-sitck foil. What could be easier?

Thinking bigger was better, I tried to use a whole recipe of pizza dough.

A Whole Recipe for Pizza Dough used in this one.

More like a stuffed bread

The calzone with the whole pizza dough recipe came out more like a stuffed bread then a calzone.

Calzone Recipe

Dough for 14 inch Pizza (frozen dough is fine)

3 italian hot sausage cooked and sliced

3 meatballs sliced

1/2 lb of mozzarella cheese shredded or cubed

2/3 cup of ricotta or Mascarpone cheese

sliced pepperoni

1 can/jar of your favorite pizza sauce

Separate pizza dough into two equal portions.  Roll out in circle. Divide all of the ingredients except the sauce between the circles. Fold the circles and crimp the edges. Bake in a 400 oven till browned. Serve the heated sauce in ramekins  for dunking.

I usually cook a bunch of sausage up and slice it and freeze it in plastic bags to use for pizza toppings.  I had meatballs left over from spaghetti and meatballs, but frozen meatballs would also work okay, I think.  This is such a flexible recipe you can really add what you want.

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in cooking, food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Calzone

  1. Tee says:

    Oh my goodness that looks good. I would make it this week except I’m trying to get my weight under control, and breads seem to be the major problem–wheat, above all, I think.

    I never really thought about making calzone. I’m not the best cook in the world, but this is something I can do. When I see some progress, I’m going to give this a try. I like the fact that it’s so flexible. I love mushrooms and cheese. Yum.

    My son loves to help me in the kitchen, and he can jump in with this recipe. Cool!

  2. Pingback: $20 to Spend on Food and Drink | 4 Real Cheap

  3. Pingback: Fresh Slice | Pro Article Listing

  4. Pingback: Fresh Slice | Easy Content Directory

  5. Pingback: Fresh Slice | WebWonk

  6. Pingback: Fresh Slice | Top Directory Listing

  7. Pingback: Fresh Slice | Best Listing Pro

Leave a Reply

