Barbecue without using a Barbecue

I have a beautiful 5 burner gas grill and a few months ago, after using it, I forgot to turn off one of the burners. Sadly, I ran out of propane gas. I guess I haven’t been paying attention to the price of propane  gas, and was shocked  when I found it was over twenty dollars to fill. I decided I will be very aware when I use my grill. In the past, I’ve always smoked and cooked on my grill without a second thought.  Now I will consider using alternate methods. With the weather so nice, I really wanted to cook outside and I had a number of options.  I used the Ronco Showtime Rotisserie for some great tasting chicken. I trimmed up the chicken and rubbed salt and pepper on the skin and sprinkled some inside the cavity. I put the barbecue sauce on it the last 10 minutes of cooking (whole thing took about an hour) I love my Rotisserie, it’s easy to clean. If it has a drawback it’s that it’s very heavy and I can’t carry it out myself.

Showtime Rotisserie

Maple Sausage Beans

Maple Sausage Beans

(Recipe adapted from “Not Your Mothers Slow Cooker Cookbook”)

Great Cookbook for Slow Cookers

1 lb small white navy beans

1 lb pork sausage

2 medium size white onions chopped

3/4 cup ketchup

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar

1 tablespoon of Dijon mustard

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

3 cloves of garlic

2 cups of boiling water or as needed to cover

1) Rinse the beans in a colander under cold running water; pick over for damaged beans and small stones.  Transfer to slow cooker and cover with water by two inches.  Soak 6 -12 hours and drain.

2) Slice the pork sausage and mix with onion, garlic, spices sugar and maple syrup. Add the boiling water and cook on low 6-12 hours until beans are tender and mixture is bubbly and thick.

I usually let them cook overnight and then spoon into quart jars and freeze them

Texas Potato Salad

This recipe had been hidden away in a book that was in our storage unit. I had searched for this book for months and finally found it.  This is a wonderful potato salad!

Great Potato Salad Recipe

Texas Potato Salad

4 medium size baking potatoes unpeeled

2 teaspoons salt

2 large eggs

2 tablespoons of vinegar

3 tablespoons of unsalted butter

4 tablespoons of finely diced Spanish onion

6 tablespoons of finely diced sweet gherkins (pickles)

3 tablespoons from the juice of the sweet gherkins

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1 whole canned pimento sliced into 1/4 inch strips

1 whole gherkin

1) Over medium heat in water to cover cook potatoes in skins  with 1 teaspoon of salt until fork tender about twenty minutes. Remove the pan from the heat, drain; replace the lid allowing the potatoes to steam for 15 minutes.

2) Meanwhile cook eggs with vinegar and remaining teaspoon of salt until just done; 10 minutes.  Drain and run cold water over them to cool.  Peel and dice the eggs

3) Peel potatoes and return them to the cooking pot. Add the butter and using a sharp knife cut the potatoes allowing the butter to be absorbed.  The potatoes should be in rough medium size chunks. Cover the pot and allow them to stand off the heat for ten minutes.  If the potatoes are not hot enough to melt the butter, place the pot covered over low heat for a few minutes.

4) Off the heat add the diced eggs, onion, diced gherkins, gherkin juice, and mayonnaise and mix thoroughly.

5) Transfer mixture to your favorite bowl; garnish sliced pimento and place the whole gherkin in the center

I found a very funny video on  making potato salad:

Just Plain Old Cole Slaw

Good ole Cole Slaw

1/2 cup mayonnaise

1/4 cup sour cream

1 tablespoon sugar

2 teaspoons lemon juice

2 teaspoons of Dijon mustard

1/2 teaspoon celery seed

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/2 head cabbage shredded

1 carrot shredded

1 small onion chopped.

1) Mix all ingredients except cabbage, carrot and onion in large glass or plastic bowl. Add remaining ingredients; toss until evenly coated.

2) Cover and refrigerate at least one hour to blend flavors.

Pulled Pork

This recipe is so easy I had to try it. It was given to me by my high school friend Terry who now lives in Florida. It is all made in the crockpot using three ingredients.

Pork butt (picnic roast)

12 oz bottle of root beer

12 oz bottle of barbecue   sauce

Mix in the crockpot and cook on low 6-8 hours. That’s it! Take out the pork and shred it or cut into pieces. I did discard the juices in the pot and added barbecue sauce. It was absolutely fantastic

Terry Giacobbe's Pulled Pork

Richard is not very big on barbecue anything. When there is a plan for a barbecue, as long as he gets an affirmative answer to the following words, all is fine.

“Can we have Scorpions?”

Scorpions: drink choice for barbecues.

The first time I had a Scorpion was in Reno at Trader Vics in the Nugget at the Rib Fest. It was so fun, you sit at a table and get this flambe bowl with these large straws and sip and talk and enjoy yourself. The full effect of a Scorpion doesn’t hit till you stand up. Do NOT take these drinks lightly. And so, what follows below, is Richard’s Scorpion recipe.

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in cooking, food, Kitchen Appliances, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Barbecue without using a Barbecue

  1. marlis says:

    OOh Kuby, what time is dinner.. this all sounds delicious.. We have both charcoal and gas. I guess we charcoal more than gas so I’ve never really figured out the cost. Grilling a rotisserie chicken on the gas grill has got to be expensive now that i think about it.. Your recipes sound so delish.. gonna be trying these.. Happy Monday, Many blessings, marlis

Leave a Reply

