The Shopkeepers Apron

Shopkeeper Apron Pattern from the Paisley Pin Cushion

I have lots of this adorable “kids by the sea” and seagull fabric.  I’ve already made some pillowcases with some and I thought it would make a darling apron. I also used some of this fabric to make a bag. McCalls P342

Pillow Cuff with "By the Sea" fabric

McCalls P492 Click to see my review of this pattern.

Shopkeeper Apron in 'By the Sea' Fabrics (note the seagull pocket)

Back view. i used velcro strip for closing to make it easy to put on and adjustable.

I’m finding I get smoother curves when I cut out my patterns with a rotary cutter.  I resisted this for so many years because I thought it was dangerous, but I can’t dispute the result. This pattern came out exactly like the photograph on the cover of the pattern. The directions were straightforward and easy to follow. I do recommend that you have another pair of hands to help you finish it up. You need someone to help you fit the back so it closes cleanly and also the shoulder strap.  Also the pocket gets pinned to the front so you can have it in a comfortable and usable place.

Decades of Style

2802-1928-one-yard-bias-cut-flapper-apron

This apron was a big hit at my store when I had it.  Because the apron cut on the bias, it is very complimentary to the figure. I made one of these reversible aprons in two batik fabrics.

One side of the two batiks flapper apron

Opposite side of the 1928 Flapper Apron in batik

My dear friend Diane Ruby, from Reno, Nevada made me one for Christmas. I love this one also.

Christmas Flapper Apron, beautifully done by Diane Ruby

Another cute apron pattern from Decades of Style is the 1940’s Apron from Val’s Kitchen

1940's Apron from Val's Kitchen

Cute little apron from the 40's

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in Bernina, Sewing, Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Shopkeepers Apron

  1. marlis says:

    I love all your aprons.. Wow. and the bags too. But the kids by the sea apron is fabulous.. Great job. Thanks so much for showing and sharing! xo marlis

  2. Mattie says:

    Kuby,
    Great aprons! I go thru a lot of them every week in my kitchen but have never really made one for myself. Most of the ones I have are very heavy duty as when I cook I toss everything around and end up with lots on myself. During the summers tho the heacy ones I use really heat me up as much as the temps do, maybe it’s time for me to sew up a few lighter weight ones for myself, and save the heavier ones for winter cooking. Mattie

  3. Mary Beth says:

    Love the shopkeepers apron pattern and fabric you chose. Nice and breezy!

Leave a Reply

