Southwestern Wagon Wheel Salad

South Western Wagon Wheel Salad

Wagon Wheel Salad (Richard said A ++

Today was the Wharf to Wharf Race in Santa Cruz.  This is usually so exciting. There are great bands about every block. Thousands of people running by our house. Chloe is usually so happy and loving to play and entertain while all of this is going on. Today is also my son Bart’s birthday! Happy Birthday to Bart!

Happy Birthday Bart!

It is definitely a Margarita day and the lime juice has been squeezed.  A barbecue of  sausage and steak is on the agenda. The New York Mets are on and not exactly playing well.  We are waiting with dread to see where Carlos Beltran is going to go. I can enumerate on the way the NY Mets broke my heart by trading beloved players. From Tom Seaver, to David Cone it has happened many times. Just heartbreaking.

Here is the recipe for the Wagon Wheel Salad. It is surely a keeper!

Southwest Wagon Wheel Pasta Salad

16 ounces wagon wheel macaroni, uncooked
2 (15 ounce) can black beans
2 (9 ounce) packages frozen corn, thawed
2 cup salsa
4 tomatoes, chopped
2/3 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
1 lb cubed pepper jack
4 cups tortilla chips, crushed
2 avocado, peeled, chopped
Dressing
1 cup olive oil or vegetable oil
1/4 cup lime juice
6 teaspoons cumin
1teaspoon chili powder
5 large garlic cloves, minced

1. In medium bowl, combine all dressing ingredients; mix well. Set aside.

2. Cook pasta as directed on package. Drain cooked pasta; rinse with cold water until cool.

3. In large bowl, combine beans, corn, salsa, tomatoes and cilantro. Add cooked pasta and dressing to bean mixture; toss until well coated. Stir in half each of the cheese and tortilla chips.

4. Place salad on large serving platter or in large serving bowl.

5. Top with remaining half of cheese; garnish with remaining chips and avocado.

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in cooking, food, General Life Stuff, New York Mets, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Southwestern Wagon Wheel Salad

  1. Looks Delicious.. Happy Birthday to Bart

  2. marlis says:

    Happy Birthday to Bart! Sorry bout your Mets.. I do understand. This salad looks scrumptious.. a definite keeper. thanks for sharing with us! xo marlis

  3. Debra says:

    Happy Birthday to your son Bart! I think this salad will be on our menu this week! How do you think some Feta cheese will be in this salad?
    Thank You for sharing!!!!!
    Debra ;o)

Leave a Reply

