Not meant to Sew today.

I love the feel of this machine, but now it's broke.

Most of you know I’m a Bernina girl. My 830E sewing machine is exquisite but I admit I was annoyed with the needle threader only working ‘sometimes’

::sigh:: Today I was going to sew all day and finish a lounging outfit of shorts and a top out of seagull cotton fabric. I have a zillion other things I want to sew, but I wanted to finish this. It is a very easy pattern and I thought it would be a perfect time to use my Pfaff 2034. Before I started actually sewing, I thoroughly  tested the machine since I hadn’t used it in ages and it sewed like a dream. It did have this click noise, but I think this is characteristic of a Pfaff.  I free motioned… double needled… tried some embellishment type things and the machine sewed great.  I really liked the feel of this machine. I had just finished the seams on the shorts and the neckline facing.  It was time to put in the sleeves and I noticed I had a gathering foot for it. I put on the gathering foot and  went to lower the tension. As soon as I touched the dial. I heard  a ‘crack’ sound and the tension ceased to work. I wanted to try to ease the sleeves taking the advice of Connie Crawford of Fashion Patterns suggested in the latest issue of Threads Magazine. She said her favorite foot was the gathering foot.

The foot I was using when the Pfaff broke.

Not all is lost though. I have a gathering foot for my trusty Bernina.

It suddenly started shooting water and making loud noises.

As I was packing up the Pfaff, the Bernina Iron started spitting and making noises as if it was going to explode causing Richard to leap from his chair like an old man in a fireworks factory.  Hot steaming water was going everywhere.

I guess I’m not going to finish this project tonight.

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in Bernina, Pfaff, Sewing Machines, Sewing Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not meant to Sew today.

  1. marlis says:

    It’s not funny but I can’t help laughing. Why does it always happen that everything goes wrong at once? Hoping your machine woes end soon. I would be very Sorry if my bernina iron quit. Hoping it all goes better. Xoxo mom

  2. jnetbeam says:

    It never fails – if you don’t have enough time you have everything else. Once you have time, everything else falls apart! Best of luck – hope to see your creations!

Leave a Reply

