The Last Tuna Casserole

Richard is crazy about this new concoction.

One way to get Richard to eat seafood is with Tuna Casserole.  I’ve already blogged about another recipe here.  I wanted make a recipe similar to one I made years ago that I had gotten from a Betty Crocker cookbook.  I only remembered that it had sour cream and mushrooms and cream of mushroom soup. I had stopped using canned soups in recipes years ago because of hydrolyzed ingredients that are supposed to be awful for you. I’ve checked the can on the Cambells Soup labels and they’ve changed their ingredients. I searched all over for that original recipe and scoured the internet for ‘like’ recipes. I finally ended up using my own. One note: years ago, when you purchased a bag of egg noodles you got one pound. Now one bag is twelve ounces. I used a bag and half.

The Last Tuna Casserole

4 6 oz cans of tuna drained

1 pound of egg noodels

1 can of cream of mushroom soup

1 can of cream of celery soup

3/4 cup sour cream

3/4 cup milk

8 ounces of  mushrooms sliced

1/2 cup chopped pimento ( I used a roasted red pepper that I had in a jar)

1/2 large green pepper chopped fine

2 TBS butter (to sautee peppers and mushrooms)

1 cup frozen peas defrosted

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon fresh cracked pepper

1 teaspoon garlic powder

4 tablespoons butter

1 cup of bread crumbs

3/4 cup grated pecerino romano cheese

1 Tablespoon paprika

2 Tablespoons of parsley chopped

1) Cook noodles till al-dente.  Sauté green pepper in butter till almost tender and then add  mushrooms. Sauté until they give up their juice.

2) Mix noodles, soup, tuna, sour cream, mushrooms, peppers, pimento, peas, salt pepper and garlic powder and place in an 9 X 13 baking dish.

3) Melt 4 tablespoons of butter and add bread crumbs and cheese. Add more bread crumbs as needed till mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle over casserole. Sprinkle paprika  and parsley on top.

4) Bake in a 350 oven till top is brown and crisp and ingredients are hot. (about 40 minutes)

This has become our new favorite

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in cooking, food, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Last Tuna Casserole

  1. Nancy says:

    I noticed the same thing about the noodles when I picked up a bag at the store last week. 12 oz. What a rip-off. I have a Betty Crocker cookbook that I’ve had for years. Took it out this morning to copy a recipe for my niece’s shower today. I just took a look and found the Creamy Tuna Casserole recipe! Would you like it? It is very similar to what you have here. 🙂

  2. Nancy says:

    The cans of tuna are smaller too!

  3. That’s because most food manufacturers are afraid to raise their prices, even though their production costs are going up. Solution: Smaller packaging, same price!

    I liked your blog, by the way, especially the title. It made me want to read it. Thanks for writing it.

  4. I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you

  5. Jemina says:

    I love spending my time cooking for people to enjoy my cooking and baking. Always trying something new when it comes to food and clothing. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

