US Senate Bean Soup

Senate Bean Soup, delicious and satisfying

I got this recipe from “Not Your Mothers Slow Cooker Cookbook.” and have wanted to make it for awhile. If you google Senate Bean Soup you will get a zillion hits

1 lb dry navy beans picked over; soaked in water overnight and drained

1 large ham hock

10 cups of water (I find this will vary according to the size of your pot)

2 medium size yellow onions minced

3 medium sized baking potatoes peeled and cubed

6 ribs of celery including ribs finely chopped

1/3 cup chopped flat leaf parsley

1/4 tsp of freshly cracked black pepper or to taste

salt to taste

1 put drained beans and ham hock in slow cooker and cover with fresh cold water. Cook 1 hour on high.

2 Drain taking care not to splash yourself with  hot water. Add onions, potatoes, celery and half the parsley, the beans and ham hock. Add the ten cups of water. (I have a 7 quart crockpot and 10 cups was too much water) Cook on low 8-10 hours. (I cooked on high for that long because the pot was so full.

3 Add the rest of the parsley, salt to taste and more pepper. Cook for 15 minutes more.

4) Remove ham hock, let cool and take meat off and put it in the soup. (I sliced up some polish sausage and added them to pot to heat through)

I did some research on this soup and found this from the United States Senate

Unbelievably flavorful and delicious (and good for you!)

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in cooking, food, Kitchen Appliances, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to US Senate Bean Soup

  1. Yummy, so yummy! You should add pearl barley to this!

  2. Excellent recipe today thanks for sharing. I really enjoyed reading today’s post.

    Check out this healthy recipe – Cheese Topped Vegetables

  3. Judy says:

    Love bean soup, sometimes I’ll use smoked turkey thighs instead of ham, which is excellent too. Loving that it is soup season!

  4. Shams says:

    Well, you started me on a journey, Kuby! I love soup and make it all the time, but had never made this soup. I wanted to make a vegetarian version, because I’m vegetarian. 😉 On Day 1, I made tempeh bacon (as a substitute for the hamhock). On Day 2, I sorted, rinsed, and soaked the northern beans (my produce market didn’t have the Navy Beans). On Day 3, I cooked the beans. I then, finally, made the soup. To enhance the flavor, I added some liquid smoke flavoring, bay leaves and, of course, vegetarian stock. For the veggies, I used one potato, and lot of carrots and celery. (I try to eat loads of veggies.) It’s still cooking now, but smells great!

Leave a Reply

