Meatball Mania

Yummy Meatballs

My husband Richard absolutely loves meatballs. For Christmas, I asked for this meatball maker. I found out about it from my friend Mattie’s Blog . She also loved this because the meatballs browned evenly in less then 15 minutes.

Meatball maker I got for Christmas. Hard to clean

In December and January, there have been many occasions for hor d’oeuvres. I prepared cocktail meatballs for both News Year’s Eve and each time the New York Giants won a game except for the Superbowl, when I made rigatoni and meatballs.

News Years Eve meatballs

The following recipe is from Allrecipes.com:

Ingredients

1 pound lean ground beef
1 egg
2 tablespoons water
1/2 cup bread crumbs
3 tablespoons minced onion

1 (8 ounce) can jellied cranberry sauce
3/4 cup chili sauce
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons lemon juice
Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
In a large bowl, mix together the ground beef, egg, water, bread crumbs, and minced onion. Roll into small meatballs.
Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes, turning once.
In a slow cooker or large saucepan over low heat, blend the cranberry sauce, chili sauce, brown sugar, and lemon juice. Add meatballs, and simmer for 1 hour before serving.

I remembered a recipe from the ’60’s that was easy and great for a Crockpot. It was simple and was reminded of it by my high school friend Ruthann Lagrega. The recipe consisted of a jar of chili sauce and a jar of jelly. It was spectacular!

Bestest Cocktail Meatballs Sauce is just chili sauce and jelly

Italian Wedding Soup

I searched for recipes for this wonderful soup, and I saw many. I finally decided to make my own, based son some of these recipes.

Italian Wedding Soup

Italian Wedding Soup

1 lb ground beef
1/2 lb ground pork
1 cup soft bread crumbs
2/3 cup parmesan cheese
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 egg
3/4 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup chopped Italian parsley

1 onion chopped
2 carrots chopped
1/4 cup bacon fat
2 bunches of escarole coarsely chopped
2 tablespoons tomato paste
3/4 cup white wine
6 cups broth (3 cups chicken 3 cups beef)
1/2 cup of pastina

1) make meatballs, place in refrigerator

2) saute onion and carrots in bacon fat, add chopped escarole and stir till wilte

3) add tomato paste. Stir. Add broth and white wine, bring to boil

4) add pastina and meatballs and simmer for about 10 minutes

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in cooking, food, Kitchen Appliances, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Meatball Mania

  1. Diana says:

    Oh Kuby! I love your blog! And I look forward to learning all about the kitchen gadgets I’m dying to own, but never knew about. 🙂

  2. Suzanne says:

    Kuby, both recipes sound scrumptious. Cannot wait to try the Italian Wedding Soup. Hubby cannot eat anything with chili sauce, so I will have to wait on the New Year’s Eve meatballs until I have a larger crowd.

  3. marlis says:

    Kuby, Love the meatball maker.. must add that to the appliance garage! Recipes look wonderful. Should have read this earlier today, it’s snowing and the soup would have been perfect! xo marlis

  4. Pingback: Cocktail Meatballs

Leave a Reply

