SuperFantastic Shirt #2

Image

Completed Challis SuperFantastic Shirt

My second Hot Patterns Superfantasic Shirt is now complete. I started the second one in a rayon challis (that feels delicious) and sadly the front was terribly off grain. I managed to get a second piece and salvage the collar, cuffs, sleeves from the first shirt. I just needed to cut out a new front, yoke, collar stands and interfacing.  The collar stand application was making me crazy. I finally fudged it by hand-sewing the stand facing down. The  side seams were sewn and finished on the Babylock Evolve and the hem is sewn with the CoverStitch on the Evolve.

Image

close shot of the collar and buttons

The buttonholes are so easy to do on the Bernina 830E and it’s kind of cool that I can sew on the buttons by machine also. Most zig-zag machines will sew on buttons if you’re able to drop the feed dogs. I was playing with the 50’s Rocketeer and was able to sew buttons with that also. (Love those old machines, but that is another post)

I was reading a post Carolyn from Diary of a Sewing Fanatic and she wrote how she seemed to make the same dress over and over. That really made me think and suddenly I remembered how in 2003, I made almost the exact same shirt in the exact same fabric!

blouse2.JPG

Click image to see more views and photo of Kwik-Sew Pattern. Embroidery pack was OESD Sunflowers and the green is the exact same shade as the current blouse, but the photo is not true to color.

s500a2.JPG

A trip to the storage unit revealed all kinds of goodies. I found more of my fabric stash and brought home a bunch of older sewing books and older Burda Mags I’d been looking for.

Image

V1291    This is Sandra Betzina’s Today’s Fit  V 1291. I found some beautiful lavender floral georgette in my stash that this will be perfect for. In the directions, Sandra recommends making in a knit first to get an accurate fit. I have a blue/white floral with will also be perfect. This is my next project.. But first..

I plan to make a simple tank from PatternMaster Boutique 5 just in case we get a real summer here!

About kuby2u

I love sewing, machine embroidery, cooking, photography and MAC's. I love my iPhone. I have a beautiful chinese sharpei named Chole. I'm happily married to my best friend. I have a wonderful son named Bart who is a LCSW, that I'm very proud of. I am a Christian. I have a Nikon D300S and an Olympus 510 along with a few other point and shoot camera's. I love my Bernina 830 sewing machine.
This entry was posted in Babylock, Bernina, Sewing Machines, Sewing Patterns, Sewing Projects, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SuperFantastic Shirt #2

  1. eumoronorio says:

    ooo I like that Sandra pattern too! I ca’t wait to see how it sews up for you! sewingforme.wordpress.com

  2. You did a great job and I’m happy for you that found such a gorgeous colored, textured and lovely fabric. I’m a green wearer too, so I’m craving it a little. Except when I think about all of my upcoming-planned projects and stash, then not so much! The buttons are wonderful too.

  3. mattie says:

    So pretty! I haven’t updated my blog in at least a month I think so had to come and check out what you’ve been up too, glad to see you’ve had some fun sewing.

  4. Cennetta says:

    Great looking shirt.

  5. prttynpnk says:

    oh that fabric looks so rich and lush. I think I need to explore that pattern company!

  6. Tee says:

    Oh, if I only had your talent. I have such designs in my mind, and absolutely no skill to create them.

Leave a Reply

